Listing and changing the conservation status of Queensland species

    All plant and vertebrate species native to Queensland (excluding most fish which are managed under the Queensland Fisheries Act 1994) are protected under the Nature Conservation Act 1992 (NC Act) and considered Least Concern unless found eligible for a different conservation class. Invertebrate and fish species are only protected under the NC Act if specifically listed under a wildlife class.

    The Species Technical Committee (STC) assesses species listing nominations submitted by members of the public and external and government scientists, as well as assessments forwarded by Australian jurisdictions responsible for listing species that occur in Queensland. Nominations must comply with the Intergovernmental Memorandum of Understanding – Agreement on a Common Assessment Method for listing of threatened species and threatened ecological communities (CAM).

    Once an STC recommendation to list a species under a wildlife class is approved by the Minister for Environment and the Great Barrier Reef, Minister for Science, and Minister for the Arts, the species is then formally listed in the NC Act Plant or Animal Regulations.

    Common Assessment Method

    The Queensland Government is working with the Commonwealth and the governments of other Australian states and territories to implement the CAM. The CAM aims to provide a nationally consistent approach to assessing and listing threatened species across Australian jurisdictions. CAM assessment processes are based on the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Red List threat categories and criteria.

    In August 2020, new wildlife classes were introduced as required under the CAM to improve the alignment between Queensland and IUCN wildlife classes and criteria.

    One of the aims of the CAM process is a ‘single operating list’ for each state and territory of Australia. This means the list of threatened species for Queensland will be almost identical under both Queensland and Australian Government legislation.

    The STC assesses nominations to determine the wildlife class that species should be listed under: Extinct (EX)Extinct in the Wild (EW), Critically Endangered (CR)Endangered (EN)Vulnerable (VU) or Least Concern (LC). In addition, a species in decline or subject to a significant threat that does not yet meet CAM criteria for listing as a threatened species may be assessed as Near Threatened (NT).

    More detail on the CAM can be found on the Australian Government's website.

    Make a nomination

    To nominate a species with an Australian distribution solely within Queensland, download and complete the nomination form (DOCX, 198.2KB) and lodge it by email to 

    To nominate a species with an Australian distribution that includes but is not restricted to Queensland, use the Commonwealth nomination form and guidelines and email the completed form to the Australian Government at

    The nomination form provides more detail on addressing specific criteria and lodging a nomination.

    STC assessment recommendations and reports

    STC meeting reports currently available:

    Note that particular species assessments may occasionally be delayed while the STC seeks further scientific information or expert advice.

    Changes to the threatened wildlife classes

    View listing changes made to wildlife classes under the NC Act and subordinate legislation:

    Further information