Skip links and keyboard navigation

Changes and new additions to species conservation classes in Queensland

All plant and vertebrate species native to Queensland are protected under the Nature Conservation Act 1992 (NC ACT) and classified as Least Concern unless found eligible for a different conservation class. Invertebrate species are only protected under the NC Act if specifically named under a conservation class.

The department co-ordinates the process for species to be listed in a conservation class under the NC Act. The Species Technical Committee (STC) assesses species listing nominations submitted by members of the public, external and government scientists.

Once a species has been assessed, the Governor in Council may approve the proposed species conservation class by amending the Nature Conservation (Wildlife) Regulations 2006 in accordance with the Nature Conservation Act 1992.

Common Assessment Method

The Australian Government is working with Australian states and territories to establish the Common Assessment Method (CAM) for the assessment and listing of threatened species. The CAM aims to provide a consistent approach to assessing and listing nationally threatened species across Australian jurisdictions. The International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Red List threat categories and criteria will be used as the basis for species assessment under the CAM.

The Queensland Government has signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Commonwealth Government and other Australian' states and territories to implement the CAM. The Queensland Government is currently in the process of amending the legislation to introduce the new conservation classes and align current classes and criteria to those used by the IUCN.

The assessment process used by the STC incorporates CAM compliant conservation classes in anticipation of the required enabling amendments being made to the NC Act. The STC assesses information contained in the nomination form (Word, 177K) and determines which CAM-compliant wildlife conservation class should be applied to a nominated species: Extinct (EX), Extinct in the Wild (EW), Critically Endangered (CR), Endangered (EN), Vulnerable (VU), Near Threatened (NT) or Least Concern (LC).

More detail on the CAM can be found on the Queensland Government website or the Australian Government Department of the Environment and Energy website.

Make a nomination

To nominate a species with an Australian distribution solely within Queensland, download and complete the Nomination Form (Word, 177K). Lodge the completed Nomination Form via email to:

To nominate a species with an Australian distribution that includes but is not restricted to Queensland, use the Commonwealth nomination form and guidelines and email the completed form to the Australian Government at

A species can be nominated for listing or reassignment from any of the following conservation classes: Extinct (EX), Extinct in the Wild (EW), Critically Endangered (CR), Endangered (EN), Vulnerable (VU), Near Threatened (NT) or Least Concern (LC). (Please note: the classes of Extinct (EX) and Critically Endangered (CR) haven't been created in the NC Act yet. This website will be updated as this information becomes available once Queensland has created the additional conservation classes required under the CAM).

The Nomination Form (Word, 177K) provides more detail on addressing specific criteria and lodging a nomination.

Nominations received

There are currently no new species nominations awaiting assessment by the STC. This website will be updated as information becomes available from early 2019.

Species requiring assessment or reassessment will be generated regularly as a result of CAM implementation and in cooperation with other Australian jurisdictions, as well as though receipt of public nominations.

Approved assessment reports and recommendations

There are currently no STC assessment reports available for species nominations.

This information will be updated as information becomes available from early 2019.

Recent changes to the wildlife categories

View changes made to Queensland’s wildlife categories on:

Further information

Last updated
20 December 2018